Writing Prompt Wednesday – “Slow Down”

typeadvicemessagelifequotesslowdown-df4d850eae23f4cbbfb646ed7970cbfe_h

Image from The Radical Self Love Project

Watching her go about her day
Lapping me at least twice
I can’t imagine taking life so quickly.
Where is the fulfillment? The rest?
Perhaps she passed that by, too.
Where does she intend to get to
By speeding on? Striving for something
Unseen in the distance. I wonder, what?
And maybe I’m not ahead of her.
Why else would she leave me behind?

She has her own life, her own goals.
I was a part of them, once.
Yet I love her drive to move onward.
I know her well enough to keep up
And that she will never slow down
Not even
For me.

Leave a Reply

