Writing Prompt Wednesday – “Fork in the road”

fork_in_the_road__by_parablivion

fork in the road. by parablivion

New year’s resolutions were something I never partook in

What was the point in setting a goal that probably wouldn’t be fulfilled?

And simple goals that can be completed in your sleep are meaningless

I decided long ago to simply follow the path that I am on and not look back

Whatever happens, happens

I would take the good, the bad, and the in-between

What choice did I have, after all?

My path was my own, and I would see it through

That wouldn’t stop life from throwing forks in my road

Making decisions that could be simple, others that required deep thought

And, more often than not, had to be made in a split-second

It’s just as well

Thinking about things too much can make it more difficult

Doesn’t change the fact that the fork isn’t going to choose itself

I may not make resolutions for the new year

And I may make mistakes in choosing left, or right

But I know enough to make the choices that set me on my own path


 

Happy new year! I was going to post something on New Year’s day, but uh… whoops. Hope everyone is having a great start to 2016 so far!

Here’s a short little piece to (belatedly) celebrate the new year and all that comes with it. I graduated uni and got a full-time job straight out in 2015, so that means 2016 and I have a lot of work to do to beat out last year! Hoo-wah!

Leave a Reply

