Writing Prompt Wednesday – “Seeking Solace”

roxie4111_by_menoevil-d6hmemt.jpg

I’m here by Menoevil

Every night, the same dream

Simply feeling the warmth

Of a gentle hand on my shoulder

Soft breath in my ear, whispering

“It’s going to be okay”

And, though I cannot see them

I can sense the kind smile

And relaxed posture

Of this mystery that bestows comfort

Soothing my soul, easing my mind

So close to taking me with them

Only to be stripped from me

Upon waking

With nothing but my own, cold hands

And equally chilled heart

That continue to grasp at nothing

Vainly hoping for solace

Leave a Reply

